guest room on the third floor is dedicated to Zion lace.
The room is adorned with samples of lace woven at the
Zion Lace Factory. Photos of early workers in the lace
mills and their tools are on display in this fascinating
Upon Dr. Dowie’s death in 1907, the family learned
that the estate was bankrupt. The house and furnishings
were sold. The house was a rental unit for a short time,
then in 1910, a wealthy lady from Philadelphia purchased
the house and resided there until her death in 1942.
The Great Lakes Bible Institute took possession of the
house for use as a school and dormitory until 1954. The
house was purchased by loyal friends of Dr. Dowie. It
was used as a residence for Mr. and Mrs. D. C. Huntley,
a small chapel, library, and a print shop where
Mr. Huntley printed copies of Dr. Dowie’s
sermons and articles. Mr. Huntley died in 1967
and the house was up for sale again. Mr. Wesley
Ashland, a Zion jeweler, made arrangements to purchase
the house for $18,500 for the purpose of restoring
it and organizing the Zion Historical Society.
Today, the Shiloh House has been restored to the
splendor of the Victorian era and its original glory
after years of appreciative labor. The first floor
is frequently rented for quaint special occasions.
Not only does the house stand as a silent monument
to Dr. John Alexander Dowie, it also serves as the
headquarters for the Zion Historical Society and
as Zion’s historical museum.